Saw – A horror story

I have a tiny radio in the shed.  It keeps me amused whilst scratching my head.

I was tempted to stay with my first instinct and relate all of this post in rhyming couplets.  On second thoughts though it will end up with me struggling to find a suitable rhyme for some obscure part of Little Project that is not quite rusted.

The young man choosing the music on the radio obviously had a webcam feed directly into the shed.  This can be the only explanation for him playing “bleed it out” by Linkin Park, followed by “motorcycle emptiness” by Manic Street Preachers,  and ending up with “the first cut is the deepest” (Cheryl Crow version, not Cat Stevens).

Plan A did not work.  This may in part be down to impatience but I was mortified by the smoke coming off Little Project and so abandoned after a few minutes.  Likewise with Plan B (still not the actor/singer director), the frame and spline laughed at my attempts to get them to chill out.   I was offered a Plan C by a clever chap (you’ll find him in Heroes and Villains on the top right, it seems that if you are a smartphone user you have to scroll all the way back to January to find them).    This involves a tap and die set and also isn’t going to work (yet) but I have formulated Plan C(ii).

There is a picture of the offending part here.  It doesn’t look too much of a problem item.  Plan C(ii) is to cut it into tiny little bits.   The spline is roughly an inch in diameter and an inch and a quarter in length through the frame.   Sawing off the zigzaggy (technical term, it seems even the mechanics at the Mclaren F1 garages call them that) side was done in a matter of minutes.    The other side (fatter and not zigzaggy) required more thought as there is no place for a hacksaw to get to it.   Never to be daunted I came up with a splendidly designed proto-handle for the hacksaw blade.

Hacksaw

Known locally as “a bit of old school jumper”, there are some advantages to using it as a saw handle.

  1. I don’t hacksaw my hand into little pieces.
  2. My knuckles are protected from bashing into the frame.
  3. Some of my hand stays warm.

This of course took much less than, erm, three hours to complete.

I now have a frame with a mucher smaller thing to remove.   It still won’t budge but the task of drilling it out seems slightly less intimidating.  I’ve so far worked my way through four 3mm drill bits and reached the depth of around 5mm.  Allowing for a drill bit every 1.1mm I reckon it will take around 20 drill bits and 12 hours to break on through to the other side.  Still, being positive  I still think that Little Project can one day be on the road again, with most of the orignal engine and all of the original frame.

Thank you for your time.

Please feel free to leave a comment

