The Seat of power

For those of you in the cheap seats I’d like ya to clap your hands to this one; the rest of you can just rattle your jewelry!

John Lennon.   He knew a thing or two about getting bums on seats.  I am having a different problem with seats.

Not with Seat, Seat is fine.   Having spent a few months as a carefree traveler it seems that Seat still has the wanderlust.  The last update regarding Seat was that it was hiding out in the boys bedroom.   It seems that every time I turn around Seat has moved to a new location.   I’m not quite sure how this is happening but it is weird.   Seat was sitting on the table, looking, erm, Seatish.  Seat was on the decking, catching some rays (or whatever the fashionable do in sunshine these days).    After a hard weekends graft in the shed I thought the clement weather merited a barbeque.  Blow me down if Seat wasn’t on the trampoline (not jumping up and down, but waiting expectantly).

I have spent some time reorganising the shed.  I threw out an old chest of drawers and replaced it with two racking stacks instead.  I now have a set of shiny racking just for “Things that I have finished with that cannot yet be fitted to Little Project”.   I may even label it as such.    There is also a shelf containing a box with the legend “CLEAN ME” scrawled upon it.  The box itself is clean so it is a bit of a misnomer as it is the many bits inside that are awaiting attention.

There are also two shelves put aside for engines.  Look!

IMG_1034

The christmassy box contains a selection of cams and valves and things from the original Little Project engine.

Seat is now placed on the very top of the shiny shelving.   I think it is a safe place to stay for a while.

The problem I’m having with seats is on eBay.  I have no need for HOAP seats so thought that somebody else may benefit from them.   There are two of them.  One in very good condition and one that is rather less cared for.    As I would hate to mislead anyone on the condition of an item I am selling, the description of the lesser seat contains the following sentence.  “To be honest, it looks like a really fat bloke with a sharp backside went on a long trip on this seat.”.

The good seat seemed to be quite popular.  It attracted several watchers but no bids.   A message from Ron asking if I’d sell it for a specific price was responded to and a deal was struck.   I removed good seat from eBay and was flooded with messages asking where it had gone.   Not so good seat was still patiently waiting courtiers until good seat disappeared and I was then inundated with messages asking “how much for the lardy arse seat”.   Lesson has been learned and there will be no more early withdrawals.

There are a few more surplus HOAP bits on eBay (you can find them under user robby1864) and there will be a bunch more going on there over the next few weeks so if you do happen to be restoring an old XL and want to find out what I have to offer then please feel free to leave me a note on here.

Little Project frame is safely tucked away with a very nice powder coating man at Nationwide Coatings.  He seemed to have all of the colours in the world available, I’d mistakenly left the original fork legs from Little Project in the box of extras that I wanted coating and he offered to blast them clean and coat them silver as part of the price.  Pretty good as I think they were destined for the scrap heap.

Thank you for taken the time to read this blog, it is appreciated.

Please feel free to leave a comment

