I don’t want a pickle

I just want to ride on my motor sickle,
and I don’t want a tickle
I just want to ride on my motor sickle.

Arlo Guthrie, The Motorcycle Song.  You’ll find it here (and probably a dozen other places)if you like your Country and Western and enjoy a chuckle.

Sadly, I have a pickle.  I took a look at the engine shelf.   Oh lordy.  Little Project engine hasn’t miraculously unseized itself during the stay with better prepared engines.    The XL125 engine is missing a piston and a cylinder head.  Of the two CB125 engines, both are complete apart from the sprocket cover,  they’re obviously much sort after bits.    One has a carb fitted to it as well.   I’m going to go with this one being the best one and when the time comes I shall just drop it into the frame and turn it over to see what happens.   The challenge with all three of the HOAP engines is that they all belong to a bike with a rev counter.   Little Project has no concept of such an extravagance and the hole in the engine where the tachometer cable should go is blanked off.    I think that I actually want as much of Little Project engine in the bike as possible (it has all of the engine covers for a start), so my plan is to drain it of oil, turn it upside down, drill around the molten mass that used to be a piston and then remove the head and the attached piston in one go.   This should in theory leave me with a bottom end that is complete and free from nasty bits.   If the big end bearing looks okay then I shall stick a CB125 head and piston on it and try to work out just what the timing should be and how the carb should be set up.   If the insides of Little Project engine are in a shocking way then I shall split the crank and wrap the cases around a CB125 engine.   I’m sure that it can’t be that difficult!

The front wheel arrived!  The people at Central Wheel also sent me back a couple of the old spokes so that I could see just how bad it was and what a fine job they had done.   To be fair, they have done a very good job indeed.

Front wheel

See the rusty spoke sitting in the middle?   (You’ve no idea how challenging it was to get this picture without a reflection of me in the hub).   Wheel also has an inner tube and tyre attached to it.   Unfortunately the inner tube was somewhat compromised during fitting and so another must be found from somewhere.   We do like a challenge at Little Project HQ though.

Whilst I was talking to a man about an inner tube, we also discussed the MOT problem that I have.    For the bike to pass through its MOT the frame number much match the frame number on the V5 registration document.   The people who powder coated my frame masked off the little tin panel that holds the frame number but a bit of the masking peeled off during the sand blasting procedure and so this happened…

Frame number

That’s not really very clever.    It looks for all the world like I have tried to eradicate the identity of the bike by sanding off the frame number.    Mr MOT gave me several very good options.   If I can take the Little Project equivalent of a brass rubbing and the number is readable then that is just dandy.  Failing that, I can purchase a replacement VIN plate and stamp the numbers on myself.   That should prove to be an interesting little task as the VIN plates that are available do not match this one in any way shape or form and the VIN plate manufacturer tells me that an exact copy will be £125!

I did say in the last post that this week would all be about getting the handlebar equipment up to scratch.   Sadly I need some satin black paint to do so and I haven’t been able to find any so I fear a trip around a dozen different retailers is going to occur. On a positive note, I put some more bits of HOAP on eBay and 50% of them actually sold.   There are some bits there this week if anyone is looking for XL125k2 parts.   I’m sure they must be worth a fortune to somebody.

You know that moment when you press the wrong button on your keyboard?   Well I’ve just done that and published this post.  I’m not keen on editing after publishing (apart from this paragraph) so that is all for today.

Thank you for visiting.

2 thoughts on “I don’t want a pickle

Please feel free to leave a comment

