Send for Spock

I suppose the daydreaming had to stop somewhere.   On the positive side, I have lots more to do and my dearly beloved will be pleased as punch that I will be spending more time in the shed.    Sit down, grab yourself a drink (Hendricks for me please) and let me tell you the problem.    I know you like it when there is a Little Project problem.

First though, some very nice people.

There is a very nice man at ioconltd (that’s their name, no spaces or anything).   I did not get his name but after receiving my “confused about carbs” email he took the time out to tell me everything that I needed to know about 1970’s/80’s Honda carburettors including which one I should purchase and how I should re-jet it depending on the exhaust pipe/air box that I am using.   In the unlikely chance that you need to purchase a replacement carburettor for an old Honda and want to buy it off eBay.   He’s definitely your man.

There is also a very nice man called Nick at Molesey Metal Works who made me a special little spacer for the price of a pint.  He was a bit confused when I pointed out that a pint of mild in Smethwick Working Men’s Club is £1.64 for members but was relieved when I paid him in London beer prices.   The spacer is perfect in every way.

We all knew that “sticking in an engine” wasn’t going to be that simple.   I put the shiny engine into the frame because it was, well, clean (we shall come back to that “was” later).

First thing I noticed as I was putting the carb on was that the carb would not go on.   A review of the available parts revealed that one of the studs was heading South and one was heading North.    This was easily resolved by taking a stud from less shiny engine.

Next point of resistance was putting the exhaust pipe on.   No bloomin’ studs at all!   Worse, one of the holes had been threaded.    I took a stud off less shiny engine and then re-tapped the other hole to take a bigger bolt.   A considerably bigger bolt if we are honest.

Just to amuse myself (and to make sure everything had not seized up since last I did it) I thought I would gently turn over the engine…

There was a bit of a leak from the left side of  the crank case and what can possibly – without too much exaggeration, – be described as an eruption from the other.   Curiously (for me) the eruption came out horizontally from a previously unnoticed little grub screw.   What was definite was that shiny engine now had a liquid carbon hue to many parts.

I took a look at Little Project engine.   No grub screw there.    Took a look at the XL125 engine that is still sitting on the engine shelf.   No grub screw there either.   Less shiny engine has one though – Obviously a feature only available to CB125 owners.

I decided that I would use less shiny engine instead, but it has a broken bit on the engine cover that has the grub screw.   Not a crippling broken bit but one that you can see if you look for it.   There is only one solution.   We need the Little Project equivalent of a Vulcan Mind-Meld.

I did briefly look at the original Little Project engine again before starting the above, but it is beyond any hope.    I could only undo one screw on the engine block so I think eventually it will go to the tip.

The Little Project engine-meld is going to involve the body of less shiny engine and the exterior of shiny engine.   This means we will have sturdy insides and an attractive outside.   A bit like Jessica Ennis although probably not as fast.  This is where I have reached so far.

more engines

(Apologies about the picture quality, I had to cut and paste it from Instagram because my phone is not talking to my laptop).

What you can see is less shiny engine on the table, Shiny engine in middle background and Little Project engine in the foreground.  Little Project engine just wanted to get in on the picture, it isn’t going to be doing anything else.

The grub screw, so it appears, allows some sort of adjustment to the clutch.    When I took shiny cover off there were bits of clutch very keen to vacate the room.  I’m not sure if this is normal or not but one of the bits trying to escape was a little O ring that should instead have been keeping oil inside shiny engine.

Yo can look forward to a rant next week about how the cylinder head will not come off shiny engine.   I know this because I looked at it today and tapped it briefly with my rubber hammer  before deciding that I would be better off watching the cricket.

If I ever finally finish Little Project I am going to write a concept album about it.   There will be long thrashy guitar solo’s where I couldn’t get the bit out of the frame and a slow pulsating drum beat will portray the rubbing down of  the petrol tank.

That’s all folks.   See you in the week.

One thought on “Send for Spock

  1. Have you tried PlusGas on the stuck bolts? It’s brilliant stuff. I’ve had tons of stuck bolts on my CT and just gave them a quick little spray, had a sip of drink and then tried again to find they came undone as simple as can be.

Please feel free to leave a comment

