Gambling is for fools

Lemmy said “If you like to gamble I tell you I’m your man.   Win some, lose some it’s all the same to me”.

I am hoping that you’ve a wide and varied taste in music and you are now searching for a download of “Ace of Spades” to have a quick head bang to and maybe a little air guitar whilst nobody but the cat is watching.    Whilst you are enjoying doing this you are going to not notice that I’m just a little bit late (or a little bit early) with this.    I have two good reasons though.

Reason number one is I have been awaiting delivery of special Honda tool part number  07716-0020100.  I have sourced one from a (possibly) dusty and forgotten warehouse in Torquay (home of Fawlty Towers if you are a fan of 1970’s BBC comedy – If you aren’t then you should buy the box set and spend a night watching it) .   I suspect that the little old man I have previously mentioned that is kept locked away in some shops and only wheeled out for obscure or obtuse requests had a field day finding my part (don’t be smutty, you know what I mean).   The postman (a great believer in the Little Project) actually knocked on the door wanting to know what part 07716-0020100 looked like and where was I with the bike.    I must take him down to the shed one day.

Anyway, the special tool has arrived and it looks like a rook.  A chess piece rook rather than the black birds that help guard the tower of London.   In fact it looks like a double ended rook.   It can only be operated with a half inch socket drive and only then if you have an extension to your socket drive so I will be paying a visit to the incredibly tawdry car boot sale that is held locally to try to pick up a cheap extension.  Then we (or at least I) can get back to work.

Reason number two is that I spent the weekend away.   Amongst the shenanigans I had my first ever trip to a horse racing event.

I don’t understand betting.  After asking for a £5 each way bet on a nag I was asked for £10.   That’s not £5!  There was another type of wager called the tote placepot (I’m certain that I was told to ask for the tote pisspot which did make the lady behind the counter look at me strangely).    You have to guess a horse that will finish in the top three in the first six races (different horse in each race, obviously the same horse isn’t going to finish in the top three in all of the races, he’d be worn out).  The prize for guessing correctly seems to be quite substantial.

There’s a horse called Sugar Boy.   If he had stuck his tongue out then I would now be writing this from a luxury yacht in the Bahama’s (probably).    He finished fourth by a nostril (or whatever the horsy term is).   Gambling’s for fools.

The quest to get Little Project up and running has gained new momentum by finding half a dozen people who are also rebuilding CT125’s at the same time.   I’m a bit envious of the chap with three CT125 engines in his garage (I briefly debated burglary until I found out he’s in Queensland) but it is great to be able to say “Do you know what this is” and get a reply.    The bit that I said “Do you know what this is” turns out to be a ballast resistor.   It, erm, resists ballast or something like that and also makes the light bulbs not blow when you rev the engine up, (not that revving the engine up is on the cards for any time soon I fear) but at least now I know what it is I can find out how to see if it works and then if it doesn’t work I can see if I can find another one from somewhere else that does work.

This weekend the target it to have the crank completely out of the engine and packed up ready to be posted to a man who can put a new conrod in it and replace the big end bearing whilst he is at it.    There are a couple of assumptions here.   I am assuming that such a man exists and I am assuming that when I turn over the next page of the manual it doesn’t say “To remove the alternator case from the crank you need special Honda tool 1234-543231 and they are only available in leap years when there is a full moon on the spring solstice”.    You’d think this not a likely scenario but by now I know better than to rule anything out.

Assuming that this weekend goes to plan, the following weekend can be spent with the electrics (again), with applying the stickers to the tank (because I still haven’t had the courage to do so) or with tidying up the shed ready for the arrival of the newly pressed crank.   What do you think?

Please feel free to leave a comment

